Blog Azeroth Shared Topic: Flavours of WoW.

In the words of Monty Python “And now for something completely different!”

The kind people over at Blog Azeroth each week have a Shared topic for the people of the WoW blogosphere, this weeks shared topic is “Flavours of WoW, you can find the forum post here.

The original post came from Cymre from the Bubbles of Mischief blog – the idea is if WoW was flavours of ice cream what would they be (full post).

The concept is something quite common to all of us:

It would not be uncommon to hear about the initial release of World of Warcraft as Vanilla or Classic. In terms of ice cream, Vanilla was once considered the most popular flavour of it’s time. So if Vanilla represents Classic WoW, what flavours could represent the following expansions?

Vanilla WoW.  I never thought of it in the same respects that Cymre did.  To me the term “Vanilla” referred to Bland, boring, without extras.  The same way that I in my normal life refer to people that I find uninteresting as “Beige”.  There’s nothing exciting about Vanilla (especially when compared the Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough or Fudge Brownie), it’s just the basic ice cream that all others can be compared to.  And thats what basic WoW was.

I’ll admit to not playing much WoW in Vanilla – I didn’t even have my own account.  I borrowed a friends when I visited him at university while he played Resident Evil.  I wasn’t aware of the not sharing accounts or ToS etc, I merely levelled an army of baby toons and the closing I got to raiding was watching him in Molten Core off tanking by running in a square with adds.  It wasn’t exciting, it was fresh and new and perfect.  It was Vanilla.

On to The Burning Crusade.  My first real foray into WoW.  I ground gear, rep, instances, I got into Raiding.  I downed Prince Malchaezar, Zul’Jin, Archimonde and Illidan.  I stomped people in the Eye of the Storm as no one knew what they were doing and I even did some dailies.  I loved The Burning Crusade, it was my favourite expansion (though the accessibility nowadays is far superior!) which gives me a Dilemna.  When you think TBC, you think green.  When you think green ice cream you surely think Mint Choc Chip.  But how can something I love be represented by something I hate.

But this isn’t about me, so let’s rationalise.  To get through a massive tub of Mint Choc Chip for me would be hard.  It would be a hard horrible grind.  Which I think perfectly somes up a lot of the problems with TBC, long hard grinds.  Mint Choc Chip it is!

WOTLK was cold.  Cold and desolate. Cold, evil, desolate and White.  The Lich King was the perfect villain.  Plain.  Ice flavour ice cream.  No flavours, just pure Cold!

And Cataclysm.  This is the opposite, my immediate thoughts here are heat.  I had to google to make sure what I thought existed, and it does – Chilli Ice Cream, need I say more.

For MoP frankly Cymre has it wrapped up – Lychee ice cream is perfect (which I had on my recent holiday in Thailand, but now I’m showing off!).

So there we have it:

  • WoW – Vanilla
  • TBC – Mint Choc Chip (yuk!)
  • WotLK – Ice flavour ice cream
  • Cata – Chilli
  • MoP – Lychee

A great topic and I’ll definitely be joining in with Blog Azeroths shared topics again!

 

About Vaughany

I'm a geek who loves gaming, travelling, sports & cooking. Currently residing in Nottingham, England.
This entry was posted in Other, Shared Topic and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Blog Azeroth Shared Topic: Flavours of WoW.

  1. Cymre says:

    Happy to see you join the in the Shared Topic but I have to disagree with your vanilla comment. I think it really depends on the brand but I think vanilla bean is beautifully creamy and flavoursome but maybe that’s just me 🙂

    • I do love Vanilla too – it’s a staple and I have it in my freezer at home. But it is the type that (in my life) comes from wanting something simple and not over the top.

      Almost like a walk in the park over a trip to a theme park, not as adrenaline fueled and over the top, but still can be pretty amazing (especially with the right person/ people).

      And I did mean it, great topic – am going to enjoy having a look around your site 😀

  2. Cool Ice Cream choices (no pun intended) I have never heard of Chilli Ice cream before, I’ll have to keep an eye out for it next time I’m at the ice cream stand.

  3. Nice post Newwowveteran. I must however ask you to hold your head in shame at disliking mint choc chip ice cream, that sir is a crime!

    And chilli ice cream. Wow some folks are gluttons for punishment ;p

  4. Pingback: Shared Topic: Flavours of WoW « Azerothian Life

Leave a Reply

