Blog Azeroth Shared Topic: Seven Deadly Sins

Another week another shared topic from Blog Azeroth.  I love these – it often gives me a chance to explore something that I generally wouldn’t think about.  This week is about vices (not the lady type), but more the sins that affect us in our Azerothian life.  The topic was suggested by Noahdeer of Stormrage:

 We  all know of the Seven deadly sins (Wrath, Greed, Sloth, Pride, Lust, Envy and Gluttony) and we all succumb to aspects of them at one time or another, but is there one particular sin that affects you more than the others when you play World of Warcraft?

Are you a bit too prideful about your armor set? or Do you look upon someone with envy when they have a piece of armor that you don’t have yet?

*This is not suppose to be about the Christian/Catholic religion, more about the vices that we all experience*

Interesting.  Very Interesting.  I am sure at times we all suffer from aspects of each in our WoW careers.  The question is which one sin particularly affects us but first I’d like to consider each of the deadly sins in brief:

Wrath also known as “rage”, may be described as inordinate and uncontrolled feelings of hatred and anger.
Although I do not particularly see myself as someone who is prone to “nerdrage” as it is so often labelled by the internet I will admit that I, like most players I dare say, are subject to the occasional bout of anger when something doesn’t go my way.  I hate it as a tank when DPS start pulling or shouting “gogogogogo”, I hate it when I miss a cooldown or taunt the wrong mob, I hate it when that BLOODY ROGUE stunlocks me on my priest and even as I write these things I can feel myself getting a touch worked up.  In game I try to control myself as I detest people being foul or abusive in game but sat at my computer screen there is the occasional spamming of buttons to the point of destruction or an expletive yelled out.  I have to say though I am far more relaxed in WoW than when I am playing League of Legends with my friends.  That is just pure rage!

Greed, is, like lust and gluttony, a sin of excess. However, greed is applied to a very excessive or rapacious desire and pursuit of material possessions.
The greed button when rolling for gear is very well named, I want gear gear, and for that I am greedy.  I want main spec gear, off spec gear, pvp gear, pvp off spec gear, pretty gear, fun gear and gear that may only be used for one encounter – or when I am in a terrible mood (and I am pleased to say I have grown out of this), “so that no-one else can have it” gear.  I may never use half the gear I have but my goodness I still want it.  Even if it just sits in my bank gathering virtual dust I want it.  It’s not a good character trait I know, but it is one of the things that keeps me playing this game.

Sloth can entail different vices. While sloth is sometimes defined as physical laziness, spiritual laziness is emphasized.
For me here sloth is definitely phsyical (or virtual physicality anyway) laziness.  I want gear, I want progression, I like being in a top group – a lot of the time I don’t want to put the work in.  I find running instances over 5 times boring, when my guild starts to farm content I suddenly get a very busy social life.  If I don’t find it extremely fun then I am too lazy to do it.  I will point out here that I do not want WoW to be a second job – I already have one demanding full time job and two pseudo part time ones – I want my WoW playing to be “fun” time and not have to do what I don’t enjoy, so I won’t.  Many players will call that lazy, I know I do as much as I know why I do it.

Pride is considered the original and most serious of the seven deadly sins, and the source of the others. It is identified as a desire to be more important or attractive than others
I use LFG a lot. I have tanked, healed, and DPS’d melee and range.  I know most 5 man fights in the game like the back of my hand from all 4 roles. I know where tricky trash is, where you should line of sight pull, or wait a moment for a patrol and I pride myself (see what I did there) on always putting in 100%.  I’ll try and top meters, or make the run fast and if there’s someone who can’t keep pace (either damage wise or speed wise) I’ll assume they are a worse player than I am.  Sometimes I’ll help them out, sometimes I’ll stay quiet – I never moan at them, though sometimes a “Carrying 2 DPS again……sigh” in guild chat.  I’ll just assume, without looking at why (lower gear, returning player or maybe just having a bad day) that I am a better player.  Looking back now, I feel really bad about this.

Lust involves the intense desire of money, fame, or power as well.
I love looking at people with loads of achievements, look how high that number is!  Oh my word, they have over 9000!!!!  I’m never going to have that myself but I love looking to see who has, what they’ve got and what they are missing.  Not sure why, it’s only numbers!

Envy is similar to jealousy in that they both feel discontent towards someones traits, status, abilities, or rewards. The difference is the envious also desire that entity and covet it.
Unlike achievement points full HC quality best in slot is something I am so envious of, I don’t just admire it, I WANT IT.  I see people walking round with 8/8HC and Dragonsoul gear and I am so jealous that it’s not me – even though, especially this xpac where I haven’t been playing, I know I haven’t put the work in to me that is irrelevant.  I want it and should have it.  Without meaning to sound like a 10yr old which reading this passage back screams to me, I am just so envious of those people.  And I hate that I feel that way, maybe this expansion is the time I should buckle down and go for it…..but then again look at my Sloth description.

Gluttony is the over-indulgence and over-consumption of anything to the point of waste.
GOLD.  Not the Spandeu Ballet song from the 80s but the virtual currency that allows us access to everything from Handbags to Mammoths to Clam Meat.  It is the currency upon which the economy of Azeroth revolves.  And I love it, I couldn’t bare to be sat on a skint character without at least a few thousand in the bank.  I’m not sure what for though – apart from levelling proffs (to make gold), gems & enchants I don’t really ever spend money, so why do I need it?  Because I can and I like having it.

So going back to the original question from Noahdeer, “Is there one particular sin that affects you more than the others?”, I would have to say from the above it is Sloth.  By being lazy I am letting down my guild and that could mean ruining other peoples gametime – and that is unexcusable.

After looking at this list now, I think there’s a couple of things about my game playing that I am going to change.

Well that was a wall of text, hopefully you enjoyed about reading some of my shortcomings in the game – but now it’s your turn, what is your Azerothian vice?

BONUS ROUND

In real life I think the sin that affects me the most is Gluttony.  I am not a massively fat guy (I play a lot of sport and try to stay healthy) but my word do I love to eat, and I have a sweet tooth that makes it even worse.  I love cooking too so can end up eating far too much sometimes when I’ll have a big lunch but then really want to try something in the kitchen at night (the other day I had Steak Pie & Chips for lunch then went home and made a Chorizo & Prawn Risotto – no one needs 2 meals that stodgy in one day).  I’d love to stop this but I just love food too much.

About Vaughany

I'm a geek who loves gaming, travelling, sports & cooking. Currently residing in Nottingham, England.
This entry was posted in Other, Shared Topic, World Of Warcraft and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blog Azeroth Shared Topic: Seven Deadly Sins

  1. Great post, I like how to talked about lust in WoW that was not related to errm….actual Lust and I’m glad you found the topic interesting!

    • I got confused on the Blog Azeroth site hence why it’s your username – I’ll change the credit and link to your blog properly!

      But I think this was definitely one of my favourite Shared Topics!

  2. Navimie says:

    Spencer said what I said! You lusted after something other than the opposite sex! Fine, fine I’m just a typical female drooling over an aspect that has taken BE form…

Leave a Reply

